Adventures to my dream part 1

Standard

I have been hosting most of my personal application from my home pc for a while until charter blocked port 80 and others. This prevented me from doing exactly that. Disappointed in Charter, I switched to  AT&T U-verse for a better service. That worked great for a couple of week and then …..boom, my ports got jammed again. I called U-verse support to help resolve this but they claim they aren’t blocking any ports. Between you and I, I think they are even though DynamicDNS says the ports are open. Long story short, I decided it was time to shell out some cash for a dedicated windows 2008 server, so I did. I’m actually very happy with my server. I configured every aspect of it to the last bit but this blog is not really about how happy i am about my dedicated server but about my experience setting up my applications in IIS 7.

IIS 7 by far is the best IIS release ever. Built ground up from scratch to support mainly the modular architecture requested by so many web administrators. I have been very impressed and at the same time, frustrated. Why frustrated? Well it has its learning curve and without the IIS 7 documentation, I wont be any closer to understanding how IIS 7 works. So I have decided to make a blog post of any knowledge I can pass on to others in relation to configuring IIS

Today’s “Did you know”:  IIS 7 allows you to run multiple sites on the same port each with a different host name. IIS using Host Names to differentiate between different sites and forwards the request to the site. Now, you can host all your sites on port 80 if you wont to so far as their host name are different. Example, say you have 2 sites. www.site1.com and www.site2.com. You can create two sites in IIS with host names “site1.com” and “site2.com” and both binding to port 80. A request to www.site1.com and www.site2.com respectively will be routed to site1.com and site2.com respectively. your request to be served by that sit

Today’s War wound: Setting up ftp in IIS 7 with the new ftp service is very easy and also support the same port binding mechanism explained above. Using the example above, say you extend both site with ftp publishing feature. You will think setting the host names for the ftp binds (same port 21)  should give you the same ability to ftp into www.site1.com and www.site2.com through ftp.site1.com and ftp.site2.com using the host name feature and the same port 21. Well, you can do that but you are in for a treat if you plan on connecting from any ftp client to those ftp site. It just fails. For some reason, the clients don’t quit know who to use host name in their request. The solution is not to use host names for ftp but rather different ports and leaving the host name to unassigned. Then connect to the different ftp sites using the servers ip and the different ports.

I hope this helps anyone in their quest to tame IIS 7.

Leave a Reply

